ferris

A few weeks ago I lost a beloved member of our family, my uncle Jack.  He was a strong, funny and loving guy who always made me feel special.  His laugh was contagious and he seemed to touch everyone’s life in a positive way.  Every time I saw him he told me I was beautiful.  Since I always felt less than that, those words really boosted my confidence in a profound way.

My uncle was a cop in Newark for 30+ years ending this career as Lieutenant and experienced the race riots of the 60’s alongside my grandfather who was Chief at the time.  Luckily for me I come from a long line of strong, courageous and good people!  During the services my uncle son, Kevin, spoke about his courage.  Not only did he have incredible courage on the streets of Newark but he faced tremendous adversity at home; two of his sons had gone through major medical challenges and he lost his wife four years ago.

When I lose a loved one it forces me to think about life.  What have I done on this Earth to make my mark?  What will people remember me for?  Perhaps I’m a freak who thinks too much and cares too much about what people think but what do we learn from people who have gone before us?

I may not be a famous actress or a Nobel Prize winner but in my own corner of the world I hope to have left these things behind:

  • To inspire people to feel good about themselves.  Through my blog or even just through conversation I want people to know they aren’t alone because we all struggle with body image, confidence, relationships, family, money, work, friends etc.
  • Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.  Just like my uncle told me that I’m beautiful, what can you say to your loved ones to make them feel good?
  • Happiness.  No matter what makes you happy in life, go for it.  Do what makes you happy because in the words of Ferris, “Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around every once in a while you could miss it”.  What are we doing here if we aren’t happy?

Maybe I sound like a peace loving hippie but let the love shine in bitches!  Namaste.

Leave a comment